Skip to main content
Banner image from the 10th Annual Gala and Fundraiser honoring Gerry Lopez, Fernando Aguerre and Jericho Poppler.

It is time for our 12th Annual Gala Fundraiser honoring this year’s CSM Silver Surfer honorees: Don Hansen, Lisa Andersen and Tom Curren!

The California Surf Museum invites you to attend the 12th Annual Gala Fundraiser as it celebrates its 33rd anniversary. Since 1986, CSM has been collecting and preserving the surfing history and artifacts of this popular lifestyle sport and culture as well as producing fascinating exhibits and dynamic educational programs. The funds generated from the Gala help the museum continue these efforts.

The 12th Annual Gala will be held on Saturday, October 26, 2019 from 4-10 pm at the oceanfront Cape Rey Hilton, 1 Ponto Road, Carlsbad, Calif. Just a stone’s throw from the beach, with a spectacular sunset view overlooking the Ponto surf break and the Pacific Ocean.

The evening begins with a 4 pm cocktail hour on the outdoor patio adjacent to our silent auction room with dinner service in the main ballroom following at 7. Once meal service is completed, the excitement begins with a live auction of surfboards made specifically for this event.

Our evening is then completed with the presentation of the Silver Surfer award to this year’s honorees:

Lisa Andersen

Tom Curren

Don Hansen

A lifetime achievement honor, the “Silver Surfer Award” is presented annually by the California Surf Museum to a surfer who has made significant contributions to the culture and lifestyle of the surfing community and whose life has also inspired others to expand their awareness and continues to set a shining example of a true Silver Surfer. The recipient will be presented with a “Silver Surfer Award” inscribed with their name and year of honor; a perpetual “Silver Surfer Award” with names of the recipients will be housed at the California Surf Museum.

The past recipients of CSM’s Silver Surfer award are notable surfers and contributors to the surfing industry: Gary Linden, Linda Benson, Skip Frye, Greg Noll, Nat Young, Joyce Hoffman, Gerry Lopez, Jericho Poppler, Fernando Aguerre, Wayne “Rabbit” Bartholomew, Ian “Kanga” Cairns, Dane Kealoha, Margo Godfrey Oberg, Mark “MR” Richards, Shaun Tomson and Peter “PT” Townend.

We are asking for donations for our Gala Auction to reach our fundraising goals.

Please consider donating gift certificates, items, experiences or services that highlight your brand. The auction is the evening’s main fundraising effort and has always delighted our guests. + LEARN MORE