Skip to main content

Film Screening presented by Opper Films: The 1965 Duke Kahanamoku Invitational Surfing Championship

Wednesday, July 12- Doors open at 6pm
Seating is limited. Call (760) 721-6876 to buy your ticket in advance to reserve your seat.

$15 general admission
$10 current CSM members

For the first time in surfing history the world’s best surfers were brought together in one group to compete in the world’s greatest surf at Sunset Beach, Hawaii.

The first annual Duke Kahanamoku Invitational Surfing Championship was a one-day event held December 15, 1965 at Sunset Beach in perfect 10-12 foot surf. Twenty-four of the world’s best surfers were invited to compete. The television film coverage was directed by Larry Lindberg, a pioneer in sports television coverage in the early 1960s who was the first to package and produce televised surf competition for the major national television networks beginning with this contest. The production crew was headed up by Bruce Brown and included cameramen Greg MacGillvray, Jim Freeman, Spyder Wills, Greg Weaver and Val Valentine. Interviews included Miki Dora, Jeff Hakman, Felipe Pomar, and the Duke.

Invited surfers: Jeff Hakman, Mike Doyle, Paul Strauch, Fred Hemmings, Peter Cole, Mickey Muñoz, Richard Chew, John Peck, Skip Frye, Kealoha Kaio, Miki Dora, Felipe Pomar, Mike Hynson, Robert August, Rusty Miller, Butch Van Artsdalen, Corky Carroll, Greg Noll, Dewey Weber, Bobby Cloutier, Jackie Eberle, Kimo Hollinger, George Downing, and Joey Cabell.

Event crew and judges: Fred Van Dyke, Randy Rarick, Wally Froiseth, Phil Edwards, Kimo Hollinger, Kimo McVay, Buzzy Trent, Walter Hoffman, George Downing.